In 2019 we will be inducting Ginny Peters into the Hands Of Fame. Ginny will cast her hands in concrete during the MLT NZ Gold Guitar Awards on Sunday 2nd June during the professional Showcase in the Gore Town & Country Club Stadium.

Ginny was born in Scotland, immigrating to New Zealand at the age of four settling in Hastings. She was first involved in music when as a teenager she started writing gospel songs. It was one of the early compositions that lead to her first recorded song ‘HIS GUIDING HAND’

2019 Hands of Fame Inductee – Ginny Peters

Jim Coyle, a well known guitarist decided to record Ginny’s song ‘NIMBLE FINGERS.’  He asked Ginny to sing the vocals, as a result Jim’s record label, Allied International, signed Ginny. She went onto a recording contract which produced four singles and two album tracks.

Without a doubt Ginny’s greatest success was when she was brought to the attention of Country Music legend, Cliffie Stone. Cliffie was so impressed by Ginny’s talent that he invited her to Los Angeles to sign a recording and publishing contract.

Her composition ‘I ONLY SEE YOU’ a number one hit in New Zealand, has been covered 26 times by artists in five different countries, including in French.

Ginny has been inducted into the Old Time Country Music Hall of Fame in Anita, Iowa in 2007. ‘IN THE ARMS OF A MEMORY’ was voted Song of the year in 2007 by the American Royal Roots Music Commission International.
‘REASON TO STAY’ was a finalist for the APRA Country Song of the year in 2017.

Three artists have released albums featuring just songs written by Ginny.
‘That’s the way Love is’ by Reg McTaggart, ‘My Tribute to Ginny Peters’ by Shavonne and ‘Une Journee Peut Tout Changer’ by French artist, Manon.

To date there have been 154 covers of Ginny’s songs by artists in five countries. In 2018 Ginny was presented with a plaque for the Multi platinum sales of her popular song, ‘I ONLY SEE YOU’.


In 1981 members of the Gore Country Music Club Inc. first debated the idea of a Hands of Fame structure in the shape of a guitar to substantiate Gore’s claim of being the New Zealand capital of country music. Discussion began between club members of what, how, when and where the tribute should be. Errol Alison was approached, a New Zealand artist who lived in Gore, to draw up some concepts of plans. These were taken to the Gore District Council for approval to erect the structure where the brown trout stands now. This initial proposal was turned down and the discussion among club members continued.

In 1992 the members of Gore Country Music Club Inc. had the insight to start collecting hand prints set in concrete of country artists both local and international. Prints were collected from Kenny Rogers, Slim Dusty, Patsy Rigger, Garner Wayne, Suzanne Prentice, Ricky Skaggs, Jade Hurley and many other worthy recipients. During the following years members continued to re addressed the idea of a structure to display the Hands of Fame. A few years later the members asked Errol Allison again for a structure that would depict what country music means to the people of Gore. Errol presented his design ideas to the members and the project was adopted at a meeting of the club.

Every year since names have been put forward to become part of the selection process to be eligible for the induction ceremony that year. The club members who were voted onto the Hands of Fame committee made the final decision. This committee spent years fundraising and working towards a debt free structure, prior to commencement of the building project. This committee also organized and ran the show for several years.

At the show during the induction ceremony, a history of the recipient is read out. Many people are amazed at the varied and interesting history of New Zealand Country Music. Not all the recipients are singers and the criteria to be inducted is decided by the club members. There were some sizable donations from people such as Jessie McChlery-Tytler.

Some of the people instrumental in the final structure being erected are:

Murray Bruce
Sue Bruce
Jessie McChlery-Tytler
Laurel Turnbull
Murray Kirk
Marlene Kirk
Gray Tytler
Audrey Winsloe

The construction began in 2004 and dedicated in the week prior to New Zealand Gold Guitar Awards on May 31st 2005. All the plaques were installed and spaces for new ones to be added. A few years later ownership of the statue was passed over to the Gore District Council.

Below is a list of the recipients.

Hands of Fame Inductees:


Ginny Peters


No Inductee


Tami Neilson and Jim Sutton


The Warratahs


The Hamilton County Bluegrass Band


The Topp Twins


No Inductee


Brendan Dugan, Pat Dugan


Barry Skinner, Dennis Marsh


Marion Burns


Ray Columbus


Possum Pickers – Peter Hayes, Lindsay Broad, Denise Hayes, Marilyn Hayes, Rae Cavanagh, Barrie Gill, Alf Pope, Steven Hayes


Brian Ringrose, Camille Te Nahu, Jim Lange, Glen Campbell


Roger Tibbs, Johnny Morris, Trevor Dawe


John Grenell. Peter Posa


Les Thomas, Reg McTaggart, Gary Morris, Ernie Andrew


Bob Mason, Peter Cairns, Fay Charlett, Rocky Don Hall, Mary Duff


Garner Wayne, Toni Williams, Jenny Blackadder


Maureen Thomson, Jeff Rea, Canadian Sisters – Violet Williams, Irene Hume


Paul Walden, Garth Gibson, Rex Franklin, Noelene Franklin


Danny McGirr, Caroline Ramblers – Malcolm Marshall, Malcolm Lilley


Noel Parlane, Margaret Bates, Ian Murdoch, Craig Giles, The Plainsmen – Norm Stringer, Claude Stringer


Kenny Rogers, Jessie McChlery-Tytler, The Tumbleweeds – Cole Wilson, Myra Wilson, Colin McCrorie, Nola McCrorie


Jade Hurley


McKean Sisters – Joy McKean, Heather McKean,  Slim Dusty, Anne Kirkpatrick, Wayne Horsburgh, Dusty Spittle, Gray Bartlett, Ricky Skaggs


Patsy Riggir, Max McCauley, Suzanne Prentice, Eddie Low, Evan Beale


Bobby Bare, Max Whitehouse, Alan Barron, Noel Burns